…First Day Shenanigans.

Hi guys!

This is going to be very very quick -I hope this meets you all well. Soo I have some very big news for you all…

1. I am now a lecturer!!
Pow. Pow. Pow

2. My article was published by Sweet & Maxwell!
Pow. Pow. Pow.

Sorry, it’s not a ring yet LOL… It’s even better! (#TheseYorubaBoys)

It’s been a long time coming and now it’s happened. I’m mega mega excited.

Teaching

It has been amazing how everything has just come together. Remember one of my earlier posts in teaching, The Teacher in You? If not, have a quick re read. It’s a post where I talked about the teacher training course I was on and all the techniques we learnt. Little did I know I would be taking my own advice so soon!

So my first week has been extremely interesting. I have two different modules and two very different classes. One is smaller, yet quite ‘bubbly’. While with the larger class, initially it took a lot of work to get them talking. They eventually did and we’ve started having some very interesting debates.

Planning and Preparation:

I can tell you now, research and teaching are two very extreme ends of the spectrum. Obviously that’s to be expected, but really,Β in terms of time management and planning, teaching requires a whole lot more. You have to remember that as the teacher, you’re the ‘fountain’ of knowledge and so you need to be prepared. Prepared and ready.

I just thought I would keep you all in the loop so far – I have a more detailed and fuller post coming up on the Stylish Academics blog, where I go in depth and talk about the transition from ‘student to staff’. Its…yh…look out for that LOL.

Publications

So you guys remember an article I did on whistleblowing and Nigerian banks a while back? I had submitted it to another publication which agreed to publish, provided that I was able to give it a more robust feel and make it different to other publication. I did that. In fact, quicker than anything. Finally, it got published and it was so weird the way I came across it.

I used to attend my former supervisors classes a few months ago and got to meet a few of the students there.(..even though i was being anti social Agnes, sitting at the back..) Anyhow, fast foward to last week, I was on my way back to the PhD offices after teaching, and bumped into one of my old supervisors former students. He asked me if I was working on my dissertation, and I explained I wasn’t an LLM student. Cut a long story short, I was rushing off and gave him my card to drop me an email, so if I came across any material for his work, I’d mail it. Only for him to look at the card and say:

Huh? You’re name is Folashade Adeyemo? I just read your article on Westlaw!

Now. I didn’t even know it was available on Westlaw so it was a verrry interesting way to find out! Two days later, I received the hard copy in the post. So ya. Praise God:)

I’ve got a few more posts coming up(Interviews)and I’m introducing diary series, which I think you’ll enjoy.

You guys have a great weekend and an amazing week ahead 😙😙😙

image

image

image

Fols ✌

4 thoughts on “…First Day Shenanigans.

  1. Hayyyyyyyyyy westlaw whooop. I have no words. I am very very happy to know and more so, on a personal level, a westlaw writer and contributor. Go go go Fola. You’re just beginning. Meanwhile, this picture, oga ooo 😍😍😍😍😍😍 gbo gbo shape lo ti wa alright >>

    Your number one stan:)

  2. Hello Fola, congrats on the job and the article. I’m a keen reader of your blog (was very helpful in mentally preparing me for law school) and your passion for academia and research is quite evident. For someone that’s interested in academia as well its been very insightful. However, I don’t know if I would be able to get a copy of the article. It falls within my practice areas and as such I would very much like to read it.

    Once again congrats. More grease to your elbows and I pray that those elbows shall never run dry of grease. πŸ˜ŠπŸ‘πŸΎπŸ‘πŸΎπŸ‘πŸΎ

Leave a Reply

