…The Halfway Mark.

Hiii guys!!!

Happy Thanksgiving Sunday. If you went to Church, I hope you went dressed to shame the devil!! ✌✌

Sooo anyway. I can’t believe we are in June already! It feels so strange that we were saying Happy New Year just a few months ago. Its also a reminder that time flies…and quickly.

Today’s post is going to be short and sweet. Its titled the half way mark because we are indeed, half way through the year. For the academics, that means we are halfway through another academic year, possibly an “Annual Review”pending or in some other instances, drawing closer to the end of the current academic year. So ladies and gents, it’s time to review.

image

Remember when I said I don’t plan for more than a few months at a time? I would really advise PhD students specifically to review where they are at this point in terms of their research. So in five simple steps, ask yourself the following questions:

1. What have I achieved in the last 6 months?
– make some notes, put your achievements on paper.

2. Did I achieve what I initially set out in my original 3 or 6 month plan?
– review your original plan.

3. Have I been working hard enough?
– Be completely and brutally honest.

4. What can I change?
– are there areas that didn’t go so well that were in your initial plan?

5. What next?
– make the next plan.

For the above questions, you have to be brutally honest with yourself. There’s noone looking at this plan but yourself. If you’re not honest, you do yourself no favours..trust me.

I have asked myself the above questions and honestly, I still have a long way to go. I am very very glad I made the choice to plan like this.  Truthly, I did meet some of my targets but I need to definitely work faster and harder. I guess you live and learn 🙂

I have a suprise actually RE: the mentorship I have been going on about. Stay tuned!!

Ok folks, I am off..have a great one.

Fols

Fols ✌

One thought on “…The Halfway Mark.

Leave a Reply

